Title: Server Setup - People Tab

In the People tab, you can add, deactivate, and activate user accounts. You can also launch the ACL and Traction Group editors, and convert old-style permissions matrices to ACL rules.

Converting Permissions to ACLs



If you have an older journal and would like to upgrade to Access Control Lists, press the Convert Permissions to ACLs button.



Overview of the People Page



Assuming you are configured to use ACLs, a typical People page looks like this:



The User Table



The table on the left lists all users. By default, inactive users are not displayed.



If you wish to show inactive users, un-check the checkbox below the table labeled "Hide Currently Inactive Accounts". This will reveal users who have been deactivated.



You can click a user's username to see that users' details. For example, clicking admin



shows a window summarizing user admin's profile information. You can click the Setup link in this window to go to that user's Personal Information page.



The total number of active accounts allowed is controlled by your license. As users come and go, you may freely add, deactivate and reactivate their accounts. A user with an inactive account cannot log in, but all information relating to that user, including their preferences, is preserved.

To deactivate an account, un-check the checkbox in the Active column next to the username and press the Apply button.



If your license is limited to a specific number of user accounts, the number of active and available accounts is dynamically updated at the top of the table.

To reactivate the account, re-check the checkbox.

The Server Administrator column lists who has Administer Server permissions defined in the Server ACL. When using ACLs, you must use the Using the Server ACL Editor Intro to edit this information. If you try to click one of the checkboxes, Traction will remind you:



You can also click the pencil icon to the right of each row to jump to the user's Personal Information page.



Forcing All Users to Change their Password on their Next Login



To the right of the user table is a tip that includes a Click Here link. If you click this, all users will be required to select a new password the next time they access Traction.



The Server ACL Editor Launcher



To launch the Server ACL Editor, click the Access Control List button.

The Access Control List will open in a new window.



The Traction Group Editor Launcher



To launch the Traction Group Editor, click the Traction Groups button.

The Traction Groups editor will open in a new window.



Adding a New User



To create a new user account, type a new username into the text input in the New User section in the right column of the page, and click the +) icon. See below for user naming criteria.



A new row is added for the new user. The actual account will not be created until you press apply.



You can add as many users as you like. To remove a user, click the (- icon.



When you are done, press the apply button.



The new user will be appear in the list sorted alphabetically.



Valid Usernames



Traction usernames must not include parentheses (), 'single' quotes, or "double" quotes.

These usernames are all valid:



None of these usernames are valid:



Note that a username is a unique identifier used for login authentication. Each user's full name can be specified in Personal Information, and it is usually this full name that is displayed for other users to see.

Note: If you intend for a user to also have a personal project, it is nice if that personal project name matches the username (though it doesn't have to) to allow consistency and to support the "personal note" feature in the Context Menu which lets a person comment automatically into their own project, if one exists. In the case that you want a user name to match a personal project name, be sure to also obey project naming rules detailed in Server Setup - Spaces Tab when choosing a username.

Renaming Users



Once an account has been created, a permanent, unique user ID is associated with that account. Accounts, once created, can not be removed. They can, however, be permanently deactivated and hidden, or renamed and reused. If you re-use an account, bear in mind that any articles posted by the original username will subsequently be attributed to the replacement username.

Server Administrators can change the username associated with an account on the given user's Personal Information page. If you are a server administrator, the Username field on this page will be editable.



Setting Passwords



Server administrators can set the password for a new user on the Personal Password page.

Setting Permissions



After creating a new user, you can use the Traction Groups to add the user to appropriate groups, and the Access Control List to set their permissions. A table of each user's permissions is available on the Permissions tab.



Attachments:
image830.jpg
image829.jpg
image864.gif
image865.gif
image866.gif
image463.jpg
image868.gif
image464.jpg
image869.gif
image870.gif
image549.gif
image831.jpg
image550.gif
image832.jpg
image871.gif
image872.gif
image873.gif
image874.gif
image875.gif
image557.gif
Related Articles
referenced by (1)
Article: Doc257 (permalink)
Date: March 22, 2008; 4:18:19 PM EDT
Author Name: Documentation Importer
Author ID: importer